One of the most difficult jobs for the Scrum Master, particularly the beginning Scrum Master, is to "Enforce the Framework." Specifically, the Scrum Guides says, "The Scrum Master is responsible for ensuring Scrum is understood and enacted. Scrum Masters do this by ensuring that the Scrum Team adheres to Scrum theory, practices, and rules." When new Scrum Teams are formed, it is extremely important that everyone start with the same understanding of Scrum and agree to abide by it. In Scrum, we tend to adhere to a three level learning structure frequently called, "ShuHaRi."

The three levels of learning are encapsulated in the name of the approach. At the SHU level, where we begin, we learn by doing and not questioning. Once we completely internalize the framework, we move to the HA level. At the HA level, we learn by modifying as appropriate and comparing the results against what was desired in the context of how Scrum is supposed to work. When we can modify Scrum effectively, we move to the RI level. At the RI level, we have internalized how and why Scrum works and can not modify Scrum but even create entirely new structures as needed.

When teams are learning how to use Scrum, work with your team to do the following:

  1. Create Ground Rules. Make sure "following Scrum" is among the rules.
  2. Create a Definition of DONE.
  3. Determine length of The Sprint.
  4. Determine when they will do their daily Scrum.
  5. Determine when they will do their backlog refinement.
  6. Agree to follow Scrum and abide by the Scrum Master's requests regarding the use of Scrum.

Our Certifications